Tua wins Maxwell Award; Murray named top QB

Tua wins Maxwell Award; Murray named top QB

Alabama’s Tua Tagovailoa and Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray split Four college football year-conclude awards Thursday, surroundings up a showdown for Saturday night after they contend for the Heisman Trophy.

Tagovailoa bought the Maxwell Award for player of the year whereas Murray modified into as soon as named the nation’s top quarterback with the Davey O’Brien Award on the College Football Awards remark in Atlanta.

Earlier within the day, the Walter Camp Award for so a lot of tremendous player went to Tagovailoa, whereas Murray won the Associated Press’ Player of the Twelve months. They’re each finalists for the Heisman, alongside with Ohio Instruct quarterback Dwayne Haskins.

Alabama QB Tagovailoa wins Walter Camp Award

Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa bought the Walter Camp Award on Thursday night as the tip player in college football.

  • Murray named AP college football player of year

    Kyler Murray is The Associated Press’ college football Player of the Twelve months, the 2d straight Oklahoma quarterback and fifth total to eliminate the award because it modified into as soon as established in 1998.

  • Will college football’s most infamous trophy creep to Tagovailoa? The previous Four Maxwell winners and former five Walter Camp winners dangle all long gone on to eliminate the Heisman.

    Or will the Heisman creep to Murray? Here is the sixth time within the previous 15 seasons that assorted quarterbacks took dwelling the Maxwell and Davey O’Brien awards, and in Four of the outdated five times the Heisman went to the O’Brien winner. And fully five Heisman winners dangle failed to eliminate AP Player of the Twelve months since the award started in 1998.

    Tagovailoa, a sophomore, has thrown 37 touchdown passes to steady Four interceptions whereas leading the undefeated Crimson Tide to the tip space within the College Football Playoff rankings. He’s the 1/three Alabama player to eliminate the Maxwell after AJ McCarron in 2013 and Derrick Henry in 2015.

    Murray, a junior who plans to level of curiosity on baseball within the long bustle, had a ninety six.Zero quarterback ranking, the ideal within the FBS in not much less than the previous 15 years, and modified into as soon as in charge of fifty one touchdowns, tied with Haskins for the most in FBS. He’s on stride to modified into the most essential FBS beginning quarterback to practical not much less than 300 passing yards and 60 speeding yards per recreation.

    Murray’s Davey O’Brien marked the fifth time an Oklahoma QB claimed the honor, after Baker Mayfield, who won ideal season, Sam Bradford in 2008 and Jason White in each 2003 and 2004. Running attend Billy Sims additionally won the award in 1978 earlier than it change into quarterback-unfamiliar in 1981. The five assorted players broke a tie with BYU for the most by any college.

    Amongst the opposite awards given out in Atlanta on Thursday night:

    Bednarik Award: Josh Allen modified into as soon as named defensive player of the year; he’s the most essential Kentucky player so honored nonetheless right here is the sixth consecutive season the award went to an SEC athlete. Allen led the conference with 14 sacks from his linebacker space, bringing his career entire to a college file 28.5.

    The award comes after Allen additionally won the Bronko Nagurski Trophy as top defensive player on Tuesday.

    Doak Walker Award: Jonathan Taylor change into the fourth Wisconsin player to be named the nation’s top operating attend after Ron Dayne in 1999, Montee Ball in 2012 and Melvin Gordon in 2014. He leads the FBS with 1,989 yards and has rushed for a hundred yards in Eleven of 12 video games this season.

    Fred Biletnikoff Award: Jerry Jeudy modified into as soon as honored as the tip broad receiver, becoming a member of Amari Cooper as the fully Alabama players to eliminate the award. Jeudy, who had 1,103 receiving yards this season, led the SEC with 12 touchdown catches.

    Jim Thorpe Award: Georgia’s Deandre Baker bought the award for illustrious defensive attend. Named to the All-SEC first group by each the AP and coaches, he had two interceptions and 9 passes broken up.

    Outland Trophy: Alabama defensive form out Quinnen Williams modified into as soon as named the most tremendous interior lineman after racking up eight sacks and 18 tackles for loss.

    Ray Guy Award: The award for the nation’s top punter went to Texas A&M’s Braden Mann, who led the FBS with an practical of fifty one.2 yards per punt.

    Lou Groza Award: Syracuse’s Andre Szmyt modified into as soon as named the tip establish-kicker after leading the FBS with 28 self-discipline targets, three extra than another player, and surroundings a college file with 141 points. He’s the most essential Syracuse player to eliminate the award, and the most essential from the ACC since Florida Instruct’s Roberto Aguayo in 2013.

    Mac Loudermilk of UCF, who additionally serves as the unbeaten Knights’ punter, and called himself “an all-spherical athlete, in actual fact,” in accepting the award thru a taped video.

    Earlier this week, the Butkus Award for high linebacker went to LSU’s Devin White. Iowa’s T.J. Hockenson change into the most essential sophomore to eliminate the John Mackey Award as the nation’s top tight conclude, whereas NC Instruct senior Garrett Bradbury took dwelling the Rimington Trophy as the tip center.

    On Wednesday, Notre Dame’s Brian Kelly change into the most essential to eliminate the Home Depot Coach of the Twelve months Award for a Third time, and Alabama offensive coordinator Mike Locksley, who has celebrated the head coaching web page at Maryland, won the Broyles Award as the tip assistant Tuesday.

    The William V. Campbell Trophy, identified informally as the “Academic Heisman,” went to Clemson defensive form out Christian Wilkins, who will graduate with a master’s diploma in athletic management this month. Notre Dame linebacker Drue Tranquill won the Wuerffel Trophy for neighborhood provider.

    Read More

    Leave a Reply